God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them. Hebrews 6:10

Almost immediately after the initial autism diagnosis seven years ago, even before the self-pity and grief had ample time to set in, I turned to scripture to try to find out why God would choose our family for the task of raising a child with special needs.  With the help of search engines and the topical index in my Bible I was able to easily find many familiar passages that slowly began to speak peace into my heart.  The story of the blind man in John 9, David’s description of God’s handiwork in Psalm 139, and God’s very own declaration that He alone creates us each with our own strengths and weaknesses in Exodus 4:11 gave me a glimpse of hope in some of my darkest days. When I find myself beginning to question why, I am able to use verses such as these for my armor.

Currently, I am reading through the book of Ezekiel.  I’ve had to take a different approach with this particular book, because I would find myself unable to recount the details of the passages.  Summarizing a small group of verses at a time has allowed me to conceptualize what I am reading.  If not for this method of note taking I may have very likely skimmed over Ezekiel 18: 2-4 without a second glance.

20180731_140053.jpg

“What do you people mean by quoting this proverb about the land of Israel: ‘The parents eat sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge’? “As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, you will no longer quote this proverb in Israel. For everyone belongs to me, the parent as well as the child—both alike belong to me. The one who sins is the one who will die.

Just because I may eat sour grapes, my children will not have to make pinched faces. Hallelujah!

School is back in full swing.  We are now the proud parents of a third and first grader, and to prove it here is the obligatory first day photo. first day

 

Having Jacob and Maggie attend a Christ-centered school has been a major blessing for our entire family, and both seem to be adjusting well to the new school year.

Baseball and dance will be resuming very soon.  Jacob and Maggie cannot wait to see all of their teammates and dance partners.  Surrounding ourselves with other families who “get it” is therapeutic for me, too.  I’m so ready!

20180826_181726

Maggie is fully healed from her surgery a few weeks back to remove her tonsils and adenoids.  The entire staff at the University of Kentucky hospital were very compassionate and accommodating to her particular needs.  Aside from an overnight stay for observation and a two return trips for a secondary ear infection, the entire experience was smooth and well worth it.

Today I am thankful for time for reflection and popsicles.

One thought on “Sour Grapes

Leave a comment