Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus. Philippians 2:3-5

My children inspire and humble me each and every day.  Their perseverance and determination is immeasurable.  They are my heroes.  However, the kindness and generosity of others does not go unnoticed nor unappreciated.  Due to their ASD Jacob and Maggie will always likely need to depend on someone else for their care and well-being.  The idea of Jacob and Maggie not being able to properly care for themselves is crushing to me.  Not because I will never be an “empty-nester”, but because I am always going to worry about who will be there for them when I no longer can be.  Since Jacob and Maggie have been participating in organizations like the Miracle League and A Chance to Dance, I have been comforted by seeing selfless people dedicating their time for others with special needs.  Without a doubt the stars of the games and performances are the participants, but none of the extracurriculars would be possible without the effort of the “buddies” and “partners”.

2017-05-22 11.28.40
Dodgers
7573
ACTD
7577
ACTD
7581
ACTD
7579
ACTD

Last week Jacob completed the first grade and is officially on summer break.  We were blessed again with another amazing teacher who encourages all of her students to live for God.  The example that she has set for her students and their families is priceless.  I love how she referred to Jacob as her “ride or die” partner.  7583 (1)

Next month will be our first attempt at Vacation Bible School for the kids.  Because we will be in a setting that is familiar for Jacob and Maggie and surrounded by people who are aware of their disability, I am feeling optimistic.  VCS is something that I looked forward to every summer growing up, and I want the same positive experience for my children.

Today I am thankful for the the volunteers that help Jacob and Maggie have a chance at a “normal” childhood, teachers and therapists who love my children as their own, and for a church family that encourages us to participate in events even when it puts us out of our comfort zone (sometimes I need that little extra motivation).

One thought on “Humbled

  1. Beautifully written from the heart. But, I will try to inject some encouragement here …..we ALL need others help, on a daily basis…think of what we do every single day. Do it without help? No one can. I feel comforted knowing whatever “little” assistance they may need, our God will provide exactly the or those person(s). Our families are here for them now, and other Godly people will love and help them when we are unable.
    God does not leave us nor forsake us!

Leave a comment